Professor John D. Kalenga Saka | Interim President

Professor John D. Kalenga Saka is the Vice-Chancellor of Mzuzu University in Malawi. He has a PhD in Chemistry from University of East Anglia, United Kingdom and over 15 years of experience in University leadership and management and has published journal articles in high-impact journals and refereed Books. Professor Saka specialization is in food and agricultural chemistry. He is leads a University of six Faculties including Health Sciences and Science, Technology and Innovation. The University offers three programs: BSc (Nursing and Midwifery), BSc (Biomedical Science) and BSc (Optometry). The University is developing a Medical programs, which will be housed in the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Professor Quentin Eichbaum M.D, Ph.D, MPH, MFA, MMHC, JD, MEd, FACP, FASCP | CONSAMS Executive, Founding Member

Quentin Eichbaum was born and raised in Namibia and South Africa. He initially studied law at the University of Cape Town and then completed his MD, MPH, PhD/postdoctoral studies at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and his residency and fellowship training at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) in Boston. He is currently Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (VUMC) and Professor of Medical Education and Administration at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He serves on numerous national and international clinical, global health, education, and health humanities committees and boards.

In global health, he serves on the Board of Directors of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH) and has chaired its Education Committee, Global Workforce Committee, and Global Health Humanities working group; and he is co-chair of the AFREhealth-CUGH Working Group (ACWG). He serves on the Education Committee of the FAIMER/ECFMG Board of Trustees. He also serves in leadership positions on several national and international health humanities committees and organizations.

In his clinical work, he chairs the AABB Global Transfusion Forum (GTF), the AABB Global Standards Committee, and the International Affairs Committee at ASFA. He is Medical Co-Director of Transfusion Medicine at VUMC, Director of the VUMC Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Program, Director of the Vanderbilt Pathology Program in Global Health, and Medical Director of the VA Tennessee Valley Health Care System Blood Bank. He co-founded and serves on the Executive Committee of CONSAMS.



Mr Seun Falayi | Interim Executive Director

Seun Falayi is a public health specialist with a bachelor's degree in public health from Babcock University and a master's degree in public health from the University of Ibadan with an emphasis on field epidemiology. Epidemiology, Implementation Science, Policy Analysis, Program Management, and Development are some of his specialties. Seun served as the Program Coordinator for the Medical Education Partnership Initiative in Nigeria, a US-funded initiative aimed at improving medical education in the country. He is a Senior Program Officer with a demonstrated history of working in the non-profit organization management industry, where he established many partnerships and successfully justified programs with data.

Seun is currently the Program Coordinator for the MEPI Junior Faculty Research Training Program at the University of Ibadan, as well as the Interim Executive Director for the Consortium of New Sub-Sahara African Medical Schools (CONSAMS).

Professor Olli Vainio | Co-Founding Northern Partner Member

BIO to come

To provide innovative solutions in medical education, training, and research for new medical and health professionals’ schools in Africa.

To Be Determined

AGA KHAN UNIVERSITY, Nairobi, KENYA, (Lukoye Atwoli)

COPPERBELT UNIVERSITY, Kitwe/Ndola, Zambia, (Seter Siziya)

ESWATINI MEDICAL CHRISTIAN UNIVERSITY (in planning), Mbabane, Eswatini (Jae Hyung Park)

LURIO UNIVERSITY, Nampula, Mozambique (Sonia Maria Ataide Maciel, Alarquia Saide)


MZUZU UNIVERSITY, Mzuzu, Malawi (John Saka; Thokozani Bvumbwe )

MULUNGUSHI UNIVERSITY, Kabwe, Zambia (Gibson Sinjumbila; Festus Mushabati)

NORTH WEST UNIVERSITY, Mafikeng, South Africa (Andrew Robinson)

UNIVERSITY OF GLOBAL HEALTH EQUITY, Kigali, Rwanda (Abebe Bekele; Judy Khanyola)

UGANDA CHRISTIAN UNIVERSITY, Mukono, Uganda (Arabat Kasangaki)

UNIVERSITY OF LUSAKA, Lusaka, Zambia (Kasonde Bowa)

UNIVERSITY OF NAMIBIA, Windhoek, Namibia (Jacob Sheehama; Felicia Christians)

UNIVERSITY OF RWANDA, College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Kigali, Rwanda (Eustace Penniecook Sawyer)

UNIVERSITY OF TURKU, Turku, Finland (Olli Vainio)

VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY, Nashville, USA (Quentin Eichbaum)

To Be Determined